The Bedford Area Welcome Center provides information about area attractions, lodging, dining, shopping, art galleries, events, and more!
The Bedford Area Welcome Center is a place for visitors and residents alike to get information about the area and also find out about local events. The facility is comprised of 10,700 square feet of exhibit, display, meeting, reception, and community space in addition to the administrative offices of the Destination Bedford Tourism Department.
We offer free Wi-Fi, morning coffee, a gift shop featuring local items and unique souvenirs, displays featuring the works of local artisans, a firefighter exhibit including a 1927 Seagrave, RV hook-ups, picnic area, electric car charging stations, and a very unique Virginia LOVE sign which represents some of the area’s attractions!
The building, with large expanses of glass, absorb views of the Peaks of Otter and the National D-Day Memorial. Tickets for the D-Day Memorial are purchased inside the Welcome Center. Combo tickets to include admission to Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest are also available.
If you plan to visit the wineries on the Bedford Wine Trail, pick up a Wine Trail passport, get it stamped at each winery, and then redeem for a complimentary souvenir wine glass.
The Welcome Center also hosts an annual Festival of Trees, every November-December. This event celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2018 and continues to grow in popularity. In 2018, Bedford was recognized on TravelChannel.com as one of ten Christmas Capitals around the world!
Nicole Johnson, Director of Tourism
Member of Trail Networks:
Bedford Artisan Trail, site # 86
Hours of operation are seven days a week, 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. The Center is closed on some holidays including Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day.
816 Burks Hill Rd.
Bedford, VA 24523